Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Johnny Ference

This post is the first in a series. Each month up until State FFA Convention, you’ll get the opportunity to meet one of Nebraska FFA’s State Officers. Today, let’s get to know State Secretary Johnny Ference from the Ord FFA Chapter. 

What FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

My Supervised Agricultural Experience was Beef Production. I did range and land judging as well as parliamentary procedure, public speaking, creed speaking, agricultural demonstration, livestock and farm management, welding, ag sales, and agricultural science.

What do you do for fun?
I spend my main time playing my guitar, and hanging out with my friends. I also work out and love meeting new people.

Where are you attending college and what is your major?
I am a freshman at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and am majoring in agribusiness, ag education, and agronomy.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?
I am a a scholar in the William H. Thompson Learning Community, a learning community focused on building academic success and community involvement. I’m also a participant in the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program, which is a program designed to help students start their own business following graduation. I’m also a member of Farmhouse Fraternity.

What are your future career goals?
I want to return to Ord to teach agricultural education as well as own my own seed corn/agronomy business.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?
The main reason I ran was because I wasn’t ready to hang my FFA jacket up. I still had a feeling inside that said I need to go to the next step, and state officer was a great way to do that.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?
I love getting to know all the members from the COLT, NPOWER, IMPACT workshops. Seeing them grow personally in only three days is an amazing thing that will stay with them the rest of their lives.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?
Get involved. High school goes too fast to not be involved in your high school. Also, there are always obstacles in our way, but you have to keep trying even if it hurts.

Leave a Reply

