Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Maci Lieneman

This post is the second in a series. Each month up until State FFA Convention, you’ll get the opportunity to meet one of Nebraska FFA’s State Officers. Today, let’s get to know State Vice President Maci Lieneman from the Norris FFA Chapter.

What FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I was a member of a State Champion Jr. Parli-Pro Team. I also competed in Land Judging, Ag Science, Livestock Evaluation, and Livestock Management and my Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) was Beef Production Entrepreneurship. I was also an Ag in the Classroom pen pal and a finalist for State Star in Production as well as State Beef Production Proficiency Winner.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am currently a freshman at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln majoring in Animal Science.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I am in the UNL Honors Association and I have joined the UNL Block & Bridle club, FFA Alumni, Collegiate Farm Bureau and Alpha Omicron Pi Sorority.

What are your future career goals?

I intend on obtaining a Graduate Degree in Animal Science focusing on genetic research. Additionally, I aspire to hold a leadership position in a leading industry organization, such as the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association or American Society of Animal Science.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

One major thing that inspired me was, when I discovered the need and importance of agricultural agvocacy in our society today. I grew up with an agricultural background and have developed a strong passion for agriculture; however until recently I did not understand the importance of “telling my story.” Simply having a passion is not enough today. We all need to do our best each and every day to agvocate. I am sure there are many other members out there like I used to be; they have a passion for agriculture but don’t understand how critical it is to speak up. One of my goals is to help them understand the importance of “telling their stories” too.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

One word: Connections! Whether they are connections I have made with industry leaders, students, advisors, political leaders and/or other state officers, they all have had major impacts on my life and, more importantly, I feel I have made an impact on their lives as well.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Take advantage of every opportunity given. The only thing free in this world is opportunities and it’s up to each of us to decide what we want to do with the opportunities we are given.

Leave a Reply

