Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Amber Burenheide

This post is the third in a series. Each month up until State FFA Convention, you’ll get the opportunity to meet one of Nebraska FFA’s State Officers. Today, let’s get to know State Vice President Amber Bureneide from the Howells FFA Chapter.

What FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

Some Leadership Skills Events that I participated in were Creed Speaking, Cooperative Speaking, Parliamentary Procedure, and Agricultural Demonstration. I also competed in Career Development Events such as Welding, Ag Sales, Livestock Judging, Farm Management and Livestock Management. I also enjoyed helping with my chapter’s Public Feed the Farmer, Fruit Sales, Rake and Run, and Traveling Barnyard.

In high school who did you look up to as a role model and why? 

I had numerous role models in high school that guided me in the direction I am going today. The person I look up to the most would be Traci Sindalar, my Spanish teacher. She was always willing to help with anything I asked. Mrs. Sindalar led me into the direction I am going today. She taught me valuable lessons about life such as never judge a book by its cover. She will always have a positive influence on my life.

What is your Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) and how did you become involved in it?

One of my SAEs is focused on poultry production and the other is placement within Diversified Livestock Production. I became involved with these two SAE projects from working on the family farm and raising my own broilers, turkeys and ducks. I worked around the farm and helped with my family’s sheep and cattle operations.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am a freshman at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln majoring in Agribusiness with an emphasis with banking and finance.

What are your future career goals?

I would like to become involved in the marketing and selling agricultural commodities.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I am member of the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program, the Agri-Business Club and the FFA Alumni Club. I also participate in intramural sand volleyball and competitive volleyball.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

I was inspired to run for state office because of the ability to connect with members with all my experiences throughout FFA. FFA was also the one thing that I could stay involved in after leaving high school.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

The best part of being a state officer is the leadership conferences and workshops we have held such as COLT, IMPACT and N-Power. I enjoyed getting to know members and talking about activities happening in high school and what is going on in their FFA chapters. 

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

I would like to share with the fellow FFA members that they should never let an opportunity pass you by. Try something new and get out of your comfort zone because it will lead you to great things.

Leave a Reply

