Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Andrew Ambriz

This post is the fourth in a series. Each month up until State FFA Convention in April, you’ll get the opportunity to meet one of Nebraska FFA’s State FFA Officers. Today, let’s get to know State Vice President Andrew Ambriz from the West Point FFA Chapter.

Andrew AmbrizWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I competed in a variety of Leadership Skills Events such as Creed Speaking, Cooperative Speaking, and Senior Public Speaking as well as Junior and Senior Parliamentary Procedure. I also participated in Career Development Events including Meat Judging and Food Science and Technology. My Supervised Agricultural Experience was in Turf Grass Management in which I had a lawn service for community members and I also worked as a farm hand during the summers.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am a freshman at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln majoring in Animal Science.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

In college, I have become a member of Block and Bridle and the Agriculture Education Club. I am also a member of Alpha Gamma Sigma Fraternity.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

My inspiration came as an incoming freshman at PEAK in summer. My state officer facilitator really encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone and pursue what I wanted to do. That encouragement and sociability helped me become who I am today and I want to be that motivating factor for all FFA members in Nebraska.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

It’s so tough to narrow it down but I would have to say that the best part has been the summer conferences we had–COLT and NPower. It was our first chance to actually interact with members since we took our positions and it was everything we thought it would be. From the learning to the memories, those conferences were a blast!

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Some words of advice I have for members are to give 100% in whatever you do. It’s pretty cliché I know, but all my greatest memories from high school were from FFA events. The feeling of doing well in your contest, mingling with members from across the state and being part of one of the greatest organizations in the country is something I really hope the members take advantage of!

You recently attended National FFA Convention. What was the best part of that experience?

National FFA Convention was an amazing experience! The best part, in my opinion, didn’t come from any sessions, but I enjoyed getting to see and interact with all the members around the nation. At our state convention, we see the difference in the name on the bottom of the jacket, but at National Convention, everything changes! Different states! Different types of agriculture in every region! It’s amazing to see it all come together!

Leave a Reply

