Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Brooke Jindra

This post is the fifth in a series. Each month up until State FFA Convention in April, you’ll get the opportunity to meet one of Nebraska FFA’s State FFA Officers. Today, let’s get to know State Vice President Brooke Jindra from the Leigh FFA Chapter.

Brooke Jindra, Nebraska FFA State Vice PresidentWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I competed in numerous contests including Natural Resources Speaking, Sr. Public Speaking, Jr. Parliamentary Procedure, Floriculture and Sr. Parliamentary Procedure. I also served as a chapter officer and participated in community service activities such as my chapter’s highway trash cleanup, clothing drive, elementary safety day, and petting zoo. Other activities that I enjoyed participating in were fruit and plant sales, going to State and National FFA Convention, and FFA week activities.

What was your SAE and how did you become involved in it?

My SAE is Beef Production. I became involved in this area through my family’s business, Jindra Angus, which involves raising and selling Black Angus cattle.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am a sophomore at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln majoring in Agribusiness.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I have been in involved with FFA Alumni, and also intramural sand volleyball.

What are your future career goals?

I plan to get my degree in Agribusiness, and then pursue a career in that field. Down the road, I would love to return to the family farm.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

I ran for state office to have the opportunity to further my FFA experience. I did not take this opportunity to run for office during my senior year of high school, and this motivated me to try during my freshman year of college. Having the time off in between really motivated me to run for state office and to make the most out of the experience.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

I have loved meeting so many different members from across the state and country, and getting the chance to learn about what they gotten out of their FFA experience.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

To take opportunities when they get the chance. 

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

I have learned a lot about facilitation and teaching methods from the many leadership camps and workshops we have taught. I have also learned about how broad and diverse Nebraska agriculture is and the many opportunities it has to offer.

What are your hobbies or what do you do for fun?

I love to play piano. I also really enjoy listening to music – especially heavy rock music and alternative music.

Who do you consider your greatest role model?

I consider my mother to be my greatest role model because she is the strongest person I know and has always pushed me to be the best person I can be.

Leave a Reply

