Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Morgan Kowalewski

This post is the first in a new series of Nebraska FFA Officers, where you to know the 2013-14 team. Let’s start off with State Vice President Morgan Kowalewski from the Gothenburg FFA chapter.

morganWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I did Agriscience, Range Judging, Livestock Judging, Meats Judging, Junior and Senior Parliamentary Procedure, Coop Speaking, and Veterinary Science. The great thing about FFA is that there is a ton of variety and you can do something that you’re interested in.

What is your Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) and how did you become involved in it?

I had one SAE during high school.  It was a placement at Eastside Animal Center, the vet clinic in Gothenburg. I got connected with this SAE through a sophomore job shadow experience. I shadowed the veterinarians for a day and then asked if I could work there during the summers. They gave me a job and I have worked there throughout the entire year ever since.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am going to the University of Nebraska–Lincoln majoring in Animal Science with the Pre-Vet Option.

What are your future career goals?

After graduating from UNL, I plan to attend vet school at either Kansas State or Iowa State and get my D.V.M. I then will return to a rural community and work in a mixed practice clinic and eventually own it. I would also love to travel the world working as a veterinarian sometime in there.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

Definitely COLT conference. It was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve had. I met some incredible individuals and I loved getting to know them and hearing about what they have already accomplished and what they wish to do. I can honestly say that I was impacted by each and every one of the students that I had the pleasure of meeting. It was a great time and I can’t wait to see what they accomplish in the next year!

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Strive to be the best version of yourself. Although you’ve probably heard this a million times, it is a good piece of advice to hold on to. Besides, why would you try to be anything less than YOU?

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

Business and Industry visits. I was pretty nervous about messing up or not knowing what to say, but I learned that that is the reason my teammates were there with me. I didn’t have to do it all by myself. This lesson is one that I will remember and use throughout the rest of my state office year and beyond; it is a good one to remember! Aside from that, I learned a lot about the logistics of professional meetings and also the seemingly endless opportunities for careers in ag. It was great to be able to say thank you to some Nebraska FFA supporters!

Who do you consider your greatest role model?

My greatest role model is my mom.  She sacrifices so much for our family–a lot of which goes unnoticed.  I want to “grow up” to have the same work ethic, selflessness, and caring heart she does.

One thought on “Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Morgan Kowalewski

Leave a Reply

