Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Dylan Dam

This post is the second in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers, where you to know the 2013-14 team. This month, let’s meet State Vice President Dylan Dam from the Logan View FFA chapter.

Dylan Dam, Nebraska FFA State Vice PresidentWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I did just about everything that I could. For contests, I did Agriscience, Dairy Judging, Livestock Judging, Agronomy, Livestock Management, Farm and Ranch Management, Parliamentary Procedure, Creed Speaking, Junior Public Speaking, and Prepared Public Speaking.

What do you do for fun?

I love to play sports, especially baseball and basketball. I love watching movies and reading books. I enjoy hanging out with my friends on weekends. I enjoy trivia and watching Jeopardy!

Where is your SAE(s) and how did you become involved in them?

My SAE is Diversified Agriculture Production. It involved work that I did on our farm growing corn and soybeans and especially the work I did helping with our herd of stock cows. I got involved because it is where I grew up and it was what I was always doing as a kid.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am attending the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and I am majoring in Agricultural Economics.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I am involved in the Honors Program, my fraternity, Alpha Gamma Sigma, as well as the Dean’s Scholars in Experiential Leadership, the Agricultural Business/Economics Club, and the Agricultural Education Club.

What are your future career goals?

After graduating from the university, I plan on attending law school. From there I want to become involved in criminal law with long-term goals of becoming a judge someday.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

The very first time it ever crossed my mind was when I was around 10 years old. A member from our school and a good family friend was elected as state president. I wasn’t exactly sure what that meant at the time but I knew it was cool. Then, my sophomore year of high school I was selected as a member of the National FFA Band, and as a part of that, we got to sit on stage for all of the sessions during National Convention. It was then, seeing the national officers up close and personal and really be inspired by the stories they and others shared, that I knew I wanted to run for state office.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

Most definitely meeting all the members and new people. I look back to when I was a member and how much I looked up to the state officers and thought of them as “the greatest thing ever,” once I got to know them I realized they weren’t any different from any of the rest of us. It’s been my goal to show members that I’m not some FFA superstar, I’m just a normal everyday guy who has been so fortunate to have the opportunity that I have this year. Our members have so many stories to share, and I have loved being able to connect with them and make friends from every area of the state.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Learning is my greatest passion in life. I have always had a thirst to find out new things about nearly everything that I come across. My advice would be to learn from every single thing that you do in your life, especially your mistakes. Never turn down an opportunity to find out something that you didn’t know before. We can only better our future by correcting the things that we have failed at in our pasts. George Santayana once said, “Those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” We are charged with one of the biggest, if not the biggest task in history, in feeding our ever-growing population. We cannot continue to do things the way they have always been done. We must look back and constantly improve on everything that we do. Our members now are the ones who are going to be the ones who achieve these goals and we will only do it by continuing to learn and do.

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

Definitely preparing for COLT. I had no idea all of the preparation that went into it. I developed my facilitation techniques, worked on public speaking skills, and really put some major effort into making some stellar flip charts.

Who do you consider your greatest role model and why?

My greatest role model is my Uncle Eric. He is my dad’s youngest brother and is almost more like a brother than an uncle. He has always been a great supporter of mine in all of the activities that I do, especially sports and FFA. He always has great advice and I can go to him with any problem that I have or for help on nearly anything. He has always lived his life the way that I want to live mine someday and I greatly admire the character, honesty, and integrity that he puts forth in all that he does.

Leave a Reply

