Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Andrew Neujahr

This post is the third in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers where you get to know the 2013-14 team. This month, let’s meet State Vice President Andrew Neujahr from the Waverly FFA Chapter.

Andrew Neujahr, Nebraska FFA State Vice PresidentWhat activities were you involved in during high school?

I was involved in baseball, football, FFA (obviously), German Club, FBLA, and FCA.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I’m attending the University of Nebraska–Lincoln majoring in Agronomy.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I am in the Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity, Agronomy club, Engler Entrepreneurship club, and Intramual football.

What are your future career goals?

I have a few easy-to-reach goals that I won’t mention here, but my main “big-time” goal is to grow 400 bushels of corn per acre on a dryland field more than 10 acres.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

Honestly, the more I went through the interviews at prelims and then at State Convention, the more I wanted to be a State Officer. I went in to the preliminary interview thinking, “Hey, I know I won’t make it, but this will be a good experience especially for job interviews.” Boy, was I wrong. Once I made finals, I wanted this more and more. So really there wasn’t an eye-opener for me. My ag teacher at the time said I would be a good candidate, so I thought hey, why not try.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

The best part so far would have to be interacting with members at workshops. I love getting to know people through activities like sports.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Treat your high school career like a buffet line: Do everything your freshman year, then slowly pick out and splurge on the things you really like.

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

This HAS to be balancing the State Officer life with college life. Trying to write a workshop while having a test the next day is pretty tough.

Leave a Reply

