Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Ashtyn Shrewsbury

This post is the fifth in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers where you get to know the 2013-14 team. This month, let’s meet State Vice President Ashtyn Shrewsbury from the Alliance FFA Chapter.

Ashtyn Shrewsbury, Nebraska FFA State Vice PresidentWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I was involved in Creed Speaking, Parliamentary Procedure, Ag Demo, Extemporaneous Speaking, Livestock Management, Livestock Judging, Veterinary Science, Food Science and Marketing Plan.

Where are you attending college and what are you studying?

I’m attending the University of Nebraska–Lincoln double majoring in Animal Science and Grazing Livestock Systems.

What are your future career goals?

As of right now, my goal is to open up my own feed store and do retail feed sales and consulting.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

Meeting so many awesome members. I have absolutely loved building connections with individual members and discovering their unique talent and passion combinations. Through COLT, NPower and IMPACT workshops, I have met many incredible people, all with one thing in common, a passion for the blue jacket they wear. It’s an experience unlike any other.

What are your hobbies or what do you do for fun?

Although I have quite a few different hobbies, I really enjoy playing golf. I took it up when I was in the 4th grade, played varsity golf all through high school and even hit a hole in one when I was 16!

Who do you consider your greatest role model?

I would consider my mom to be my greatest role model, she is the most passionate and caring person I’ve ever encountered. She has overcome many obstacles throughout her life and has truly shown me that if you work hard and stay humble anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

