Meet Your Nebraska FFA State Officer: Bryce Doeschot

This post is the sixth in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers where you get to know the 2013-14 team. This month, let’s meet State Secretary Bryce Doeschot from the Norris FFA Chapter.

Bryce Doeschot, Nebraska FFA State SecretaryWhat do you do for fun?

In my free time, I enjoy doing a wide variety of activities. I love hunting deer and fishing, as well as being around friends doing almost anything, from riding four wheelers to having a bonfire! I also serve on the Firth Volunteer Fire Department while back home.

Where are your Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAEs) and how did you become involved in them?

I enjoy Supervised Agricultural Experiences so much that I actually have five of them. My most successful project is being manager of Creo Edwards Vineyard. As manager, I oversee the operations on a two acre section of grapes. My tasks include pruning, planting, harvesting and general care of the grape vines. My other projects include working on my family farm, working at Yonkey Pine, a Christmas tree farm, owning my own pigs and performing research in the Norris FFA Test Plot.

Where are you attending college and what is your major?

I am studying Agricultural Journalism at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. Shooting and producing videos is something I have always enjoyed doing and I hope to pursue a career within agriculture doing just that while working in public relations.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

In college, I am a member of the Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity, UNL Shotgun Club, Collegiate Farm Bureau, Agriculture Communicators of Tomorrow, UNL FFA Alumni, UNL Agricultural Education Club and Dean’s Scholars in Experiential Leadership.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

A past state officer actually inspired me to run for a state office. When I came to COLT at the end of my sophomore year, I was shy and nervous to be in a new group of people.  I remember Brennan Costello coming up to me during a break and after talking with him for a short time, we became friends and he served as an inspiration for why I wanted to for State Office. It was neat that Brennan came up to me and encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone and inspired me to do so for the rest of my year and in life. I strive to be that motivation for students all across that state that I get the privilege to meet.

Who do you consider your greatest role model and why?

My greatest role model is definitely my dad, Clayton. From a very early age, I remember riding in a combine with him and asking him why he doesn’t stop when the sun goes down. He told me that farmers have to be hard workers. Hard work is only one of the many values that he has taught me while growing up. I continue to look up to my father for motivation and guidance to how to be a good man.

Leave a Reply

