Meet Your State Officer: Brandon Nichols

This post is the first in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers where you get to know the 2014-15 team. This month, let’s meet State Vice President Brandon Nichols from the Bridgeport FFA Chapter.

Brandon Nichols, 2014-15 Nebraska FFA State Vice President

What FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I was involved in ag demo, extemporaneous speaking, livestock management, farm and ranch management, range judging, and livestock judging.

In high school who did you look up to as a role model and why?

I always looked up to my Dad because he was always so smart and could figure things out without all the information. He was understanding and could always talk to him about stuff.

What do you do for fun?

For fun I play sports, hang out with friends, or do something on the farm like drive a tractor or check cows.

What were your Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAE) and how did you become involved in them?

My first SAE is a commercial cowherd. I started this herd when I was ten years old with an FSA youth loan. My second SAE is working on our family’s farm and ranch. I became involved in this before I could remember. I always wanted to help out some way on the farm.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am attending the University of Nebraska Lincoln and majoring in Agricultural Economics and Pre-Chiropractic with a minor in entrepreneurship.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I am not sure of what activities there are to participate in while down at college, but I’m excited to find out.

What are your future career goals?

My career goals are to return to our family’s farm and ranch and help manage it alongside my brother and to be a part-time chiropractor.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

Two previous state officers inspired me to run for office when we were at a beef leadership symposium. They both looked at me and said I should run for state office.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

The best part of my year so far has been to have the opportunity to meet such a large variety of members that Nebraska has offered and to form a connection with them.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Keep up what you all are doing. Nebraska FFA as a whole has some quite unique top ranked qualities about it and competes very well against other state in many ways.

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

My biggest moment of learning so far has been learning that my choice of words when talking to people can go in so many directions. How I use this word choice helps people better figure out questions on their own without being told the answer.

Leave a Reply

