Meet Your State Officer: Amanda Lambrecht

This post is the second in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers where you get to know the 2014-15 team. This month, let’s meet State Vice President Amanda Lambrecht from the Blair FFA Chapter.

Amanda Lambrecht, Nebraska FFA State Vice PresidentWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I was involved in Livestock Judging which I had gone to state in for all four years. I also made it to state in Vet science last year. I have participated in livestock management, floriculture, public speaking, parliamentary procedure, creed, extemporaneous speaking and Ag Issues Academy. I also helped in the community garden and was an officer for three years.

In high school who did you look up to as a role model and why?

There were multiple people who I would look up too. I especially looked up to my dad for my whole life and especially in high school because he was always there for me and he is the smartest man I know. He cares about others and he works hard to make sure everyone else is happy. He is very active in the community because he wants to help make the world a better place. Another person that I really looked up to during my senior year was Miss Petersen who was my advisor for that year. She was caring and she always knew what to say. She doesn’t judge others and by doing that she gives everyone an equal chance at everything. She helped me be who I am today by making me work and by also encouraging me along the way.

What do you do for fun?

My fun is mostly working on the farm and working with my livestock to go to shows. I also work with my 4-H and FFA animals, which I care a lot about and put a lot of time into getting them ready and showing them. I like to also just relax with friends whether it be going to the lake or just chilling around a bonfire.

What were your Supervised Agriculture Experiences (SAEs) and how did you become involved in them?

My SAE consisted of working on our family farm which I have been doing for my whole life. Lambrecht Farms has cattle, sheep and pigs, which are a lot of the same animals that when I become a veterinarian I would be working with. We also have crops and hay.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am attending the University of Nebraska–Lincoln and majoring in Animal Science. I plan to go to vet school to be a veterinarian.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I am wanting to stay active in FFA but also would love to be on the livestock judging team.

What are your future career goals?

I would like to own my own vet clinic and also have a clinic to help young students who are in FFA and 4-H who can’t have their own livestock take them to my place to keep them.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

I am inspired to have the impact on others lives like the officers have had on mine. I love knowing that I am helping someone achieve their dreams and goals in life and that I am building connections with all different kinds of people.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

I had a lot of fun at NPower because it was a conference that we were able to have fun with students from all age groups and then also interact with others from the Nebraska Human Resource Institute (NHRI) and even facilitate a little with them.

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

Time is too short to be stuck in the past so dream big.  Live for today and never ever give up no matter how hard life may be.

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

During Chapter Officer Leadership Training (COLT), I was able to learn how to facilitate and also learn about what others do.  I also have never gone a moment into my time as an officer that I have not learned and grown from something.

Leave a Reply

