Meet Your State Officer: Blair Hartman

This post is the third in our series of Nebraska FFA Officers where you get to know the 204-15 team. This month, let’s meet State Vice President Blair Hartman from the Imperial FFA Chapter.

Blair Hartman, Nebraska FFA Vice PresidentWhat FFA activities were you involved in during high school?

I competed in Ag Sales, Range Judging, Livestock Management, Livestock Judging, Food Science, Ag Demo, Jr. Parliamentary Procedure, Sr. Parliamentary Procedure, and Market Plan.  Both my Sr. Parli Pro and Marketing Plan teams qualified and competed at Nationals.

In high school who did you look up to as a role model and why?

I have a couple different role models that have always played a huge role in my life. The first one is my mom, she hasn’t always been at every event I have ever competed in, but she never let me leave without knowing how much she believed in me, and no matter the outcome I never went without knowing how proud she was. My other role model is my high school agriculture teacher, Mr. Vlasin. He taught me and has always demonstrated what it means to be a selfless and servant leader. It didn’t matter the situation or time of day, he was only a phone call away.

What do you do for fun?

I enjoy spending quality time with my close friends and family around campfires at the lake and watching movies.

What were your Supervvised Agricultural Experiences (SAEs) and how did you become involved in them?

I had a couple different SAE projects throughout my FFA career. I own one-third of a cow herd in cooperation with my brother and sister and I also own one-third of a sucker business that supplies our local concession stand with suckers. I own this business with my sister and a past teammate. In the past I raised pigs in coordination with my sister.

Where are you attending college and what are you majoring in?

I am attending the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and majoring in Agriculture Education.

What activities are you becoming involved with as a college student?

I belong to the Ag Ed Club and Range Club, in addition to all of our FFA duties.

What are your future career goals?

My career goals consist of becoming an agriculture teacher and FFA advisor. I would eventually like to help write curriculum for elementary-aged students that would teach them ag literacy starting at a younger age.

What inspired you to run for a state officer position?

My freshmen year I attended Made for Excellence (MFE)  conference in Kearney where we were encouraged to set a long-term goal, and that goal for me was becoming a state officer.

What has been the best part of your officer year so far?

The best part has been meeting and building relationships with all of the members. Chapter Officer Leadership Training (COLT) and NPower were some of my favorite weeks of being a state officer so far!

What words of advice do you have for FFA members across the state?

My advice to all members across the state is take the opportunity to meet someone new, build relationships, and keep them! Find your passion, set your goals, and make the connections needed to accomplish those goals, and most of all, do not let anyone tell you that something can’t be done!

What has been your biggest moment of learning as a state officer?

My biggest learning moment as a state officer has been during BLAST OFF training when my team and I had a conversation to discover each others top 5 strength themes through STRENGTH Finder, so we can now use these strengths to the best of our team’s ability!

Leave a Reply

